top of page

Inspiration Park

Andrea Grimsley

The outdoor downtown gathering space commemorates 2020’s 100th anniversary of the Women’s Suffrage Movement and honors the rich legacy of women who have shown vision and tenacity to become significant contributors to the Batesville community.

The five inaugural honorees are Margaret Hillenbrand and Mary Mitchell, the co-founders of Margaret Mary Health; Safe Passage founder Jane Yorn; Jolene Rockwood, the founder of the Batesville Area Arts Council, and Amack’s Well founder Roberta Cook.

(WRBI Photo)
The five honorees’ names are engraved at the base of the park’s sculpture named “Forces of Nature.”

The names of 19 other women community trailblazers are on granite pavers that encircle the sculpture.

As part of the ceremony, the Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce held a ribbon-cutting.

Donations and a $50,000 T-Mobile Hometown grant were used to design and develop Inspiration Park.

bottom of page